Statement on resignation of AEMC Chief Executive Anne Pearson

The Australian Energy Council congratulates Anne Pearson for her outstanding stewardship of the Australian Energy Market Commission.

The Australian Energy Council’s Chief Executive Sarah McNamara said that Ms Pearson had stepped into the Chief Executive role at the AEMC at a time of unprecedented change.

“Anne oversaw an intensive work program of reform at the Commission.  Her deep experience and understanding of energy markets has been critical to the management of the challenges of the energy market transition.

“The industry thanks Anne for guiding the AEMC’s thoughtful approach to various market rule changes in an environment of competing demands.

“Anne’s skill and genuine professionalism will be missed.  We wish Anne well for the future.”

About the Australian Energy Council

The Council represents 22 major electricity and downstream natural gas businesses operating in competitive wholesale and retail energy markets. These businesses collectively generate the overwhelming majority of electricity in Australia and sell gas and electricity to over 10 million homes and businesses.

Media contact:
Carl Kitchen, 0401 691 342