Industry congratulates new energy minister

The Australian Energy Council has congratulated Angus Taylor on his appointment as Federal Energy Minister and thanked former Environment and Energy Minister, Josh Frydenberg, for his commitment to energy policy and constructive work with the sector.

The AEC’s Chief Executive Sarah McNamara said “Minister Taylor comes to the energy portfolio at a critical time for the sector, which faces a range of pressures.

“A national energy policy must remain a top priority for the government. It is vital that the industry has the necessary framework to deliver affordable and reliable power, while we continue to manage an energy market in transition. 

“The energy industry looks forward to working with Minister Taylor in his new role and assisting him with these challenges.”

Ms McNamara also thanked Mr Frydenberg for his management of the energy portfolio and congratulated him on his new role as Treasurer. 

“Minister Frydenberg navigated a challenging policy debate and negotiations with the energy sector with great skill.  We greatly appreciated his engagement and leadership. On behalf of the industry, I congratulate him and wish him the best in his new role.”

About the Australian Energy Council

The Council represents 21 major electricity and downstream natural gas businesses operating in competitive wholesale and retail energy markets. These businesses collectively generate the overwhelming majority of electricity in Australia and sell gas and electricity to over 10 million homes and businesses.

Media contact:
Carl Kitchen 0401 691 342