Media Contact
Carl Kitchen 0401 691 342
Dec 21 2017

Energy Industry Appoints New Chair and Deputy Chair

The Australian Energy Council (AEC) Board has appointed Jeff Dimery as its new Chair and Steve Davy as Deputy Chair.

The AEC’s Chief Executive Matthew Warren said “both Mr Dimery and Mr Davy bring a breadth of experience to the leadership of the industry’s peak body.  This will be invaluable as we continue to progress the transformation of the industry.

“We are pleased to have two such respected energy executives to lead our Board at this critical time for the industry.

“I’d also like to thank Frank Calabria, the outgoing Chairman, for his outstanding service as the inaugural Chair of the AEC over the past two years.  Frank’s leadership has been highly valued during a challenging period.”

Frank Calabria is Chief Executive Officer of Origin Energy and will remain a member of the AEC’s Board.

Jeff Dimery is Chief Executive Officer of Alinta Energy and was previously the AEC’s Deputy Chair.

Steve Davy is Chief Executive Officer, Hydro Tasmania. He is also currently Chairman of Hydro Tasmania’s mainland retail business, Momentum Energy.

About the Australian Energy Council

The Council represents 21 major electricity and downstream natural gas businesses operating in competitive wholesale and retail energy markets. These businesses collectively generate the overwhelming majority of electricity in Australia and sell gas and electricity to over 10 million homes and businesses.

Related News


Australian Energy Council congratulates Daniel Westerman

The Australian Energy Council congratulates Daniel Westerman on his appointment as CEO and Managing Director of the Australian Energy Market Operator.

Feb 10 2021

New data shows solar shines despite lockdowns

Rooftop solar installation grew by 18 per cent nationally over the last year, according to the Australian Energy Council's latest Solar Report, which showed record growth in solar PV capacity and installations during 2020.

Feb 04 2021

Australian Energy Council congratulates Chris Bowen and thanks Mark Butler

The Australian Energy Council congratulates the Hon Chris Bowen MP on his appointment as Shadow Minister for Climate Change and Energy and thanks the Hon Mark Butler MP for his extensive work in the portfolio.

Jan 29 2021
Do you have a question or comment for AEC?

Send an email with your question or comment, and include your name and a short message and we'll get back to you shortly.

Call Us
+61 (3) 9205 3100