Sep 22 2019

Appointment of new Australian Energy Regulator chair

The Australian Energy Council congratulates Clare Savage on her appointment as Chair of the Australian Energy Regulator and thanks Paula Conboy for her leadership of the AER over the past five years.

The Australian Energy Council’s Chief Executive, Sarah McNamara, said that Ms Savage brought a strong track record in senior energy sector roles, including most recently as Deputy Chair of the Energy Security Board.

“Clare’s broad experience, knowledge and understanding of the energy market and energy sector generally will be invaluable at a time of considerable change. This appointment is recognition of that and we wish Clare all the best in her new role.

“The energy industry looks forward to continuing a productive relationship with the AER and its Chair,” she said.

Commenting on Ms Conboy’s tenure at the AER, Ms McNamara, said: "Paula was highly respected across the energy industry and we wish her well for the future."

About the Australian Energy Council

The Council represents 21 major electricity and downstream natural gas businesses operating in competitive wholesale and retail energy markets. These businesses collectively generate the overwhelming majority of electricity in Australia and sell gas and electricity to over 10 million homes and businesses.

Media contact             Carl Kitchen                0401 691 342

Related News


Report shows solar continues to shine

Australia's love of solar continues to grow with the latest data showing people are going bigger when to comes to getting rooftop solar.

May 06 2021

Energy Council statement on Andrew Reeves

The Australian Energy Council is saddened to learn of the loss of Andrew Reeves, the former chair of the Australian Energy Regulator.

May 05 2021

Response to the ESB’s Post 2025 Market Design Options Paper

The Australian Energy Council has welcomed the release of the Energy Security Board's options paper,which is the result of a substantial consultation process.

Apr 30 2021
Do you have a question or comment for AEC?

Send an email with your question or comment, and include your name and a short message and we'll get back to you shortly.

Call Us
+61 (3) 9205 3100